NewJerseyHomeBuilders.net

Your NJ Building and Remodeling Resource

Sponsored Links

 

New Jersey State - Builder Registration

new home builder
The New Home Warranty and Builders’ Registration Act (NJSA 46:3B-1et seq), which was enacted in 1977, requires that builders register with the State of New Jersey prior to starting construction of any new home and before offering a warranty on any new home bought and sold in the state of NJ.


Who Must Register

Those who must register include:

 

  • All builders of owner-occupied new homes. This includes single family homes, townhouses, duplexes (two-family homes), cooperatives, condominiums, factory-built, and modular homes.

  • Any individual or organization in the business of constructing new homes, anyone who constructs a new home for sale, acts as prime contractor to construct a new home for himself/herself or for another person, contracts with a general contractor for construction of a new home, or sells or transfers title to land and then participates in the construction of a new home.

You do not need to register if you are constructing a new home for your own personal use, or if you are a licensed architect, engineer, or attorney.

Note: Failure to register or maintain registration can result in fines of up to $2000 per incident.

How to Register

Builders must submit a registration application along with a non-refundable fee of $200 to the State of NJ.

 

If your business is a Limited Partnership, Joint Venture, Corporation or General Partnership, you will also need to submit a copy of the appropriate business entity certification along with your application.

 

If approved, you will receive a registration card which you must show when applying for local permits.

Registration is effective for 2 years, after which you must submit a renewal application, along with the required fee.

 

Next: The NJ State Warranty Program >>